Recordings » Stations (1997)

Stations: Songs for the Paschal Journey

Title: Stations: Songs for the Paschal Journey
Artist: Kathleen Deignan, Schola
Year: 1997

Buy OnlineShare

Musician(s): , , , , , ,

In the Christian tradition, stations sign the Way of the Cross, marking a devotional itinerary for the disciples of Christ. This selection of songs draws from the repertoire of Holy Week composed by Avoglia and Deignan and celebrated at the Benedictine Grange in West Redding, Connecticut. Each song is a “station,” a contemplative moment of the paschal journey of Lent, sung through the familiar voices of passiontide: the Suffering Servant, the lamenting mother, the family at Bethany, the friends of Jesus. The album features the beautiful peace blessing, Pax-Amor Christi, and the powerful choral anthem, Hail Cross, with rich orchestration by Paul Avgerinos.
-Kathleen Deignan, CND

# Track Hear Lyrics
01. It Is With You That We Journey
02. Song Of The Suffering Servant
03. O Beautiful One
04. Bethany
05. Refreshing Our Strength
06. Pax Amor Christi
07. Come Now
08. Your Loving Will
09. Miriam's Lullaby / Lament
10. Song In The Wilderness
11. Now We Follow Jesus
12. The Reproaches
13. O Jesus Joy
14. Hail Cross